Paid off my credit card, again. 

Today I paid off my credit card debt. 

Finally!

I don’t really know where to start to explain the feeling. Right now I’m just happy that it’s finally done! The sad thing is, this is not the first time I’ve had to pay off my credit card debt. I know, disappointing. But hey, the good thing is that right now I am credit card debt-free. 

The first time I got myself tied up with piling debt on my card was really bad. My debt was right under $4,000 and it was a nightmare to say the least. I had gone from a responsible credit card owner to the other end of the credit line. 

How did this happen? 

Well, to begin, I was not working at the time this happened and also did not have ANY savings in place to back me up.

 I think not having any savings was a major key in how I got in debt. It was not having a solid plan to fall back on for when something like this could happen.  I also never had anyone tell me to save money or how to save money! I didn’t have a platform or basis on which to imitate and try to follow so that I wouldn’t fall into that pit of debt. 

Simply put, save money!! Save what you can and when you can. Don’t spend on things you know you shouldn’t. Many times  we like to spend because we feel like we “need” whatever it is, when in fact we really just want it. 

Open a savings account

Put whatever is left over after bills have been paid into your savings  and DO NOT TOUCH IT! It’s called a savings account for a reason. Taking out for emergencies is okay but only as a last resort. 

Don’t get a credit card if you are not responsible or have never had at least any kind of financial management skills. It’ll be the death of you. Don’t get me wrong, I know people who have actually done a great job of being responsible with a credit card without prior knowledge or possession of one. So just be really careful when considering one. 

This time around my debt wasn’t as large as my first time but it seemed larger in a different sense. I have become more apt at handling my finances and at saving money. That’s how I was able to payoff my debt! 

My next goal is my student loan. That loan is easily sitting under a grand and I hope to pay that off within two to three months, if all goes well. After my student loan is paid off the biggest challenge will be paying off my truck. That’s a whole different topic in itself. 

So I guess you can say  I am still continuing to tackle this new year at a great start. I am so thankful that I have been able to pay off this debt because debt is unnecessary for the most part. And it’s always because we aren’t prepared. This obstacle is liberating in so many ways. 

I want to live as free. 

This is just another way of doing that and it’s my way. Your way of living free could be very different from mine or any other person but we all have that idea of what it is for us. 

So go start whatever it is that sets you free. 

Leave a Reply

