Still Going.

One of the things that I really wanted to focus on this year is to spend my time wisely. I usually have plenty of time after work to do anything really. The sad truth is that I have never been able to manage my time in a wise matter and have spent it doing meaningless things or, unfortunately, on social media.

Under that umbrella of better managing my time lie many things. One of those things is learning songs on my guitar by memory without having to use notes. I know that’s not anything revolutionary but for me, it is. It’s revolutionary because I have never really been able to memorize songs and I’ve always wanted to do that. Every time I played the guitar at church or with friends, I could not do it unless I had my notes with me. It’s actually a little embarrassing to be honest. I’ve been doing that for about 5-6 years since I learned to play guitar.

Things have changed though.

Yesterday marked the second song that I have finally gotten down by memory without using my notes and it is an AWESOME feeling! Practice is key. I did practice for a few hours until I got it down, and at times, it was frustrating but so worth it.

I think the best reward is not just simply learning the song but feeling accomplished. The feeling that you were able to do something that you didn’t think you could do before, even if it’s something small like learning a song, is a great feeling. Things like that have taught me to gain confidence that I can do anything I desire as long as I set my mind and time to it.
“Nothing worth having comes easy”. I want to live by that quote this year. I want to know that I can do the things I’ve been wanting to do for a long time but have always set an excuse. The biggest excuse has always been that I’ve been afraid to fail. It’s as simple as that.

 

Fear of failure will keep many of us from seeing our success. It kills our dreams.

 

Start small. Learn a song or two on the guitar. Write. Blog. Shoot pictures. Save money. Pay off debt. Just start.

 

 

Leave a Reply

