Second day of the year.

It’s 2017. Right now I think the rest of the world is off to the “new year, new me” mentality and I believe it’s a great way to start off this year.

For many people, failure will be inevitable. Gyms will be packed this first, and possibly second, month with eager folks who mean good to themselves but will eventually fall back on their new year resolutions. That’s always a classic example.

It’s January 2, 2017 and I’m running thoughts through my mind about things that need to change in my life and things I have been doing good at. I’m not going to sit here and give myself a grand speech or make myself seem triumphant from the previous year(s) about how this year will be different from the last.

If I’m honest, it’s been about the same. I will admit that I am proud of ONE sole accomplishment and that is being able to stop drinking energy drinks (RedBull) for an entire year. I didn’t even crave a single one all year and I’m going to continue that lifestyle. Coffee is my desired drink right now and I can also happily say that I a now a part of the “all black” coffee. I was the type that “loved” coffee but I could not stand to drink it without cream or sugar. But thanks to a friend of mine, I was convicted to start drinking black coffee. It was difficult at first because the taste was foreign and rough to me but eventually after a couple of tries I forced myself to do it and now, I love it!

 

It’s funny how a simple thing like not drinking energy drinks for a year or starting to drink black coffee will do to you mentally. It gives you that small push that you need to believe that certain things are possible- all it takes is a valiant effort to accomplish it.

That’s exactly what I want for myself this new year. With it come new experiences, new opportunities and new memories. I want to be motivated by the small efforts which cause those accomplishments. I’m not proposing anything new this year for myself. I simply want to pursue those things that live in my mind and that I desire for in my life. Small but meaningful efforts are what I want this year. Whether those efforts are to accomplish something new in my life or to end certain things.

There are also things which hinder my drive for life and blindfold me to see my purpose. Those things can sometimes become so life threatening (in a non-lethal kind of way) that could possibly cause me to miss out on life and miss out on the joys of life. I don’t want that for myself.

 

So this year, let’s make a valiant effort to accomplish that which we desire for. Small steps will lead to great things, as long as we make those steps.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

